Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière Collection

A new permanent exhibition space at the quai Branly

The museum is unveiling a new permanent exhibition space designed by the architect Jean Nouvel to house the exceptional donation of 36 works by collector Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière to the French State in 2018.

In the space of just a few years, Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière amassed a collection of works from Africa and Oceania of exceptional scope and quality, the genesis of which is closely linked to the creation of the museum. Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière chose to gift this collection to the French State so that it would be displayed at the musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac.

THE MARC LADREIT DE LACHARRIÈRE COLLECTION

The collection comprises works from Africa and Oceania, the qualities of which ensure their place among universal artistic heritage. African statuary art occupies a central place in the ensemble, which presents a series of works with diverse forms, origins and chronology.

Find out more
THE GALLERY DESIGNED BY
JEAN NOUVEL

Designed by architect Jean Nouvel, the display of this collection emphasises the powerful presence of the works through an original and poetical scenographic installation that puts visitors in a state of mind of contemplation. Through both its format and its harmony, the exhibition circuit creates an intimate and adept approach to the collection, offering visitors a unique aesthetic experience.

THE COLLECTION IN 16 WORKS

Substantial resources were pooled to illustrate and document this collection with an exacting scientific perspective. Here you can view the historic and documentary points of reference for 16 works in the collection: in-depth contextual, cartographic and historical information on the works, as well as details on their provenance and filmed testimonials.

Find out more

Collection Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière

Un nouvel espace d'exposition permanente au quai Branly

Le musée dévoile un nouvel espace d'exposition permanente conçu par l'architecte Jean Nouvel. Il accueille la donation exceptionnelle de 36 œuvres faite à l'État français en 2018 par le collectionneur Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière.

Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière a constitué en quelques années une collection d’œuvres africaines et océaniennes d'une ampleur et d'une qualité exceptionnelles dont la genèse est intimement liée à la création du musée. Marc Ladreit de Lacharrière a voulu faire don de cette collection à l'État français pour qu'elle soit présentée au musée.

LA COLLECTION MARC LADREIT DE LACHARRIÈRE

La collection réunit des œuvres d'Afrique et d'Océanie que leurs qualités rattachent de fait au patrimoine artistique universel. La statuaire africaine occupe une place majeure dans l'ensemble, qui présente une série d'œuvres variées tant par leur forme, leur origine que leur chronologie.

En savoir plus

LA GALERIE CONÇUE PAR JEAN NOUVEL

Imaginé par l'architecte Jean Nouvel, l'écrin de la collection s'attache à révéler le pouvoir de présence des œuvres, en faisant le choix d'un parti pris scénographique original et poétique qui prédispose le visiteur à la contemplation. Par son format, comme par son harmonie, le parcours d'exposition permet une approche intime et privilégiée de la collection, et propose au public une expérience esthétique inédite.

LA COLLECTION EN 16 ŒUVRES

D'importantes ressources ont été réunies pour illustrer et documenter cette collection avec un regard scientifique exigeant. Accédez ici à des repères historiques et documentaires sur 16 œuvres de la collection : des informations contextuelles développées sur les œuvres, cartographiques et historiques, mais aussi des précisions sur leur provenance et des témoignages filmés.

En savoir plus